Meeting with Papayanagi (continued from Kiyopapa meeting)

«Excuse me.»

After the door was opened, a man, seemingly in the 40s, appeared from the door. His expression became somewhat wary as he noticed the unexpected visitor.

«It has been a long time, Ayanokouji-sensei.»

The man bowed deeply. The scene was like that of a subordinate and his boss.

«…Sakayanagi. What a nostalgic face. It’s been 7, 8 years I presume.»

«I guess it has been that long since I succeeded my father’s position as the board chairman. Time sure does fly.»

Sakayanagi? I got a little sense of incongruity from the name the board chairman presented himself as.

It can’t be helped I associated that name with Sakayanagi Arisu from Class A.

«You must be Ayanokouji-sensei’s… Kiyotaka-kun I assume? It is nice to meet you.»

As he was talking to the standing me, he tilted his head slightly to the side.

«Thanks for everything. We are done speaking so I’m excusing myself.»

«Ah, Could you wait a bit. I just want to talk a bit to both of you.»

I couldn’t possibly refuse that from the third person, at least not from the board chairman of this school.

«Well then, have a seat.»

I took my seat following his invitation. The board chairman then sat down beside me.

«I have heard from the principal. It seems you want to make him withdraw from school?»

If the board chairman yielded in authority, I would perhaps be cornered.

«That’s right. Since his parent is stating so, you should promptly set in into action.»

I wonder how board chairman Sakayanagi would return those words. Having his worries elsewhere, Sakayanagi met the man’s eyes and replied.

«You are mistaken. True, the parents have much to say regarding their child. If the parents strongly desires for it, there are cases where we don’t have to consider the student’s own wishes. Still, that is by considering all facts and reasons. As an example, if they were subjected to vicious bullying etc, it would be worth considering. Does this hold true to you, Kiyotaka-kun?»

«Not at all.»

«What a farce. That’s not my problem. I just want him to quit the school he enrolled at without my permission.»

«Going to high school isn’t mandatory. Which school to enrol at is up to the student. Naturally, if the parents payed the expenses like tuition or similar, it would be another story. This school has all expenses covered by the government so money and the materials are not a problem. Thus we will put the students’ autonomy as our first priority.»

It was expected but I felt grateful for those words.

(Continued)

3 thoughts on “Meeting with Papayanagi (continued from Kiyopapa meeting)

  1. These translations are epic! I really enjoy reading the Classroom of the Elite light novels. If you’re not to busy, could you help me out? Do you know “the secret system” that this summary is referring too?

    “Kiyotaka’s father is pressing for him to drop out. Then, the school’s board chairman is revealing the secret system behind the Advanced Nurturing High School――!?”

    Like

Leave a comment